The Official Website of LuZhou Municipal People’s Government
The Official Website of LuZhou Municipal People’s Government


【Size:T T

Luzhou is nominated through the “Lushui Said”, with an ancient name of Jiangyang. The history of Luzhou dates back to the year from 535 to 546 in Liang Empire of Nan Dynasty, with ancient name of Jiang Yang Municipality. Jiang Yang Municipality territory includes Jiang Yang County (Jiang Yang District today), Jiang’an County (Dadu town of Naxi District today), Mianshui County (Changning County today) and Anle County (Hejiang town in Hejiang County today).

The territory of Luzhou is located in Liang Municipality in Xia and Shang Dynasty, and Ba shu territory in Zhou Dynasty. In the spring of 316 B.C, the Qing Empire defeated Ba Empire and Shu Empire and newly named Ba province and Shu province respectively, with territory includes most of the Jiang Yang district today. In the year of 151 B.C in Xi Han Dynasty, Shujia was appointed as the municipal director, and the territory of Luzhou was named as Jiang Yang County(Jiang Yang district of Luzhou Municipality today), in the junction area of Yangtze river and Tuojiang River. In the year of 135 B.C, The emperor Hanwu named the territory of Luzhou as Jiang Municipality in order to develop the minority areas in southwest region. In the year of 213 A.D, Xian emperor in Dong Han Dynasty renamed the territory as Jiang Yang Municipality. Xijin Dynasty kept the name of Jiang Yang municipality, under the supervision of Yichuan province, including Jiang Yang County, Fu County and Jiang An County.

Luzhou was set up in the years from 535 to 546 in Liang Empire of Nan Dynasty, and at that time Luzhou governed Jiangyang municipality and three counties such as Jiangyang County, Jiangan County, and Mianshui County. In the Year of 607 A.D, Sui Dynasty renamed Luzhou as a municipal city with government office in Zhongsheng area of Renshou County. Jiang Yang County was renamed as Luchuan County, under the supervision of Luzhou Municipality. At that time, Luzhou Municipality includes Luchuan County, Fushi County, Jiang’an County, Hejiang County and Mianshui County. In the year of 618 A.D in Tang Dynasty, Luzhou Municipality was re-established, and the government office was re-established in 620 A.D and escalated into sub-provincial level 1 year later, with territory includes Luchuan County, Fuyi County, Jiang’an County, Hejiang County and Mianshui County.

In the Northern Song Dynasty, Luchuan governor was set up in Luchuan County Luzhou City. In the year of 1170, the County governor was upgraded to a City Governor. In the end of Song Dynasty, Luzhou is renamed as Jiang'an City, which governed Luchuan County, Jiang'an County, Hejiang County, and Naxi County, and was under the jurisdiction of Tongchuan. In the Song Dynasty and the beginning of Yuan Dynasty, Mongolia invaded Sichuan, the city of Luzhou moved to Rongshan, Jiang'an, Anleshan, and finally built the city on the Shenbiya in Hejiang, sticking to against the war for 35 years. In the Yuan Dynasty, Lu Chuan County was cancelled and merged into Luzhou, which governed Jiang'an County, Hejiang County, and Naxi County, and was under jurisdiction of Chongqing. In the year of 1373, Hongwu sixth year of the Ming Dynasty, Luzhou was governed by Sichuan Executive Secretariat. In the year of 1376, Hongwu ninth year of the Ming Dynasty, Luzhou was gverned by Sichuan dasan be selgiyere hafan and governed Jiang'an County, Naxi County, and Hejiang County. Inthe year of 1802, Jiaqing seventh year of the Qing Dynasty, Luzhou was governed by the Southern Sichuan Yongning governor. In the beginning of the Republic of China, Luzhou was renamed Luxian County, and seperated from Jiang'an County, Naxi County and Hejiang County. In the year of 1935, the seventh administrative inspector was set up. 

In 1949, The Southern Sichuan District Committee of C.P.C was founded in Zigong. In January 1950, the Southern Sichuan District Committee moved to Luxian County and set up the People's Government of Southern Sichuan (provincial, recalled in August 1952).

On the 1st December 1949, Xuyong County was liberated. On the 2nd December 1949, Gulin County was liberated. On the 3rd December 1949, Luxian, Hejiang, and Naxi were liberated. On the 5th December 1949, C.P.C Luxian County Committee and the People's Government of Luxian were founded. 

In December 1949, the Luxian Administrative Supervision Commissioner Office was set up, which was renamed as Luxian Commissioner Office in September 1950, under the jurisdiction of Southern Sichuan Committe. 

On 10th July, approved by the center government, Luxian County seperated from Luzhou city, and CPC Luzhou Municipal Committee was founded at the end of July. Luzhou city government was formally established on 15th August. Luxian prefectural commissioner office was set up in Luzhou city, which governed 8 counties such as Luxian County, Hejiang County, Gulin County, Xuyong County, Gusong County, Naxi County, Fushun County, and Longchang County. 

In March 1952, the Luxian Commissioner Office moved to Longchang County, and renamed as Longchang Administrative Commissioner Office, later under the jurisdiction of Sichuan Province. In December 1952, the Commissioner Office moved to Luzhou, and renamed as Luzhou Administrative Commissioner Office, of which one city and 8 counties are under the jurisdiction.  

On 12th January 1953, Luzhou city was designated as the Commissioner Office city, which is directly under the jurisdiction of the Commissioner Office. (In 1953, Luzhou city was changed to a municipality, under the jurisdiction of the Commissioner Office. )

On 3rd March 1983, Luzhou city was upgraded to a prefecture-level city, which governed Luxian County, Naxi County and Hejiang County. in May of the same year, Sichuan Provincial Government approved to set up Luzhou city center district. On 1st June, The municipal Party Committee and the municipal government offices were formally established.

On 17th January 1985, Luzhou city center district government was founded. On 4th June 1985, Gulin County and Xuyong County (which were under the jurisdiction of Yibin) were moved under the jurisdiction of Luzhou City.

On 24th December 1995, Luzhou city center district was renamed as Jiangyang District; Naxi County was withdrawn and renamed as Naxi district in Luzhou city; Longmatan district was newly set up; Luxian County government office moved from the new street in city center district to the Fuji town in Luxian County; and the administrative division for Jiangyang district, Naxi district and Luxian County was correspondingly adjusted.

On 1st July 1996, administrative division adjustment was formally implimented. Luzhou City governs three districts and four counties (Jiangyang district, Longmatan district, Naxi district, Luxian County, Hejiang County, Xuyong County, and Gulin County).